Defining the Message Severity Level

You can set the severity level of messages according to the level of detail you need. You can also control the destinations of the messages.


The following command will set the logging to the console, this is the default.

Switch#configure terminal
Switch(config)#logging console

If you want to send logs to a syslog server, you would send them to a host.

Switch#configure terminal
Switch(config)#logging host <ip address>

In order to not be interrupted on the command line with messages, you can set the messages to be synchronized.

Switch#configure terminal
Switch(config)#line console 0
Switch(config-line)#logging synchronous


  • Emergencies — level 0 — System unstable
  • Alerts — level 1 — Immediate action needed
  • Critical — level 2 — Critical conditions
  • Errors — level 3 — Error conditions
  • Warnings — level 4 — Warning conditions
  • Notifications — level 5 — Normal but significant condition
  • Informational — level 6 — Informational messages only
  • Debugging — level 7 — Debugging messages

By default, the console receives debugging messages (level 7) and numerically lower levels. For example, if you set the logging level to 4, you will recieve all warnings, errors, critical, alerts, and emergencies.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *